Ray

ImageYesterday I said I would post things that inspire me and Ray LaMontagne’s music is a constant inspiration. I actually wish I could go back in time and get that feeling back of first experiencing his music. More then just the quiet power of his voice, his lyrics paint amazing pictures.

From the song, Empty:
Well, I looked my demons in the eye, laid bare my chest said, “Do your best to destroy me. You see, I’ve been to Hell and back so many times, I must admit you kinda bore me.”/There’s a lot of things that can kill a man, there’s a lot of ways to die/Yes, some already dead that walk beside me/Theres a lot of things I don’t understand/Why so many people lie/Well, it’s the hurt I hide that fuels the fire inside me.

See what I mean? Incredible visuals. He put so much of himself into every word that every song sounds like an autobiography.

On my design page, my typography self-portrait was created using the lyrics to Beg, Steal, Borrow, because after the twelve billionth time of hearing it, those lyrics finally sunk in and I decided to make some big changes in my life. ¬†Listening to his music makes me push further, work harder and reveal a little more. I hope some day I can tell him how his music effected me, but I’d probably start crying and embarrass us both. But you never know, he could have a Google alert set, see my work, realize my awesomeness and write his next big song, “Beth.” What?? Why are you looking at me like that? Let me have my dream!!

Here is Ray performing Empty live on the BBC in 2009.

Leave a Reply

