Quotes

I’m a self-help book junky. At any given time I’m reading at least one and have one in audio form on my Ipod. One of the most valuable pieces of advice I’ve ever taken away was from Steve Chandler (I can’t recommend his books more highly) and it was to start a quote journal. The idea behind a quote journal when you read or hear something that speaks to you, jot it down for when you need some words of wisdom.

I’ve got lists of quotes all over the place- in a notebook (okay, several random notebooks), on my phone, on my Ipod, on my computer, on receipts in my purse, all over. Being back in school, I find myself drawing on my quote lists more often. So I thought I’d share a few that I keep in mind almost daily. Most deal with design, some don’t, but hopefully they will inspire you as much as they inspire me.

“…yet failure is built into creativity…the creative act involves this element of ‘newness’ and ‘experimentalism,’ then one must expect and accept the possibility of failure…” Saul Bass 

“Don’t worry about people stealing your design work. Worry about the day they stop.” – Jeffery Zeldman

“The ugly can be beautiful. The pretty, never.” –Oscar Wilde

“I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life- and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” –Georgia O’Keeffe

“God will not have his work made manifest by cowards.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson 

“A candle loses none of it’s light by lighting another candle.” – unknown

“Don’t try to be original, just try to be good.”- Paul Rand

“The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.”-Bertrand Russell

“Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.” –Bill Cosby

“It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”- George Eliot

Leave a Reply

