Ice Mountain 2

Just in case you were sitting on the edge of your seat all week in eager anticipation of the final result- wait no longer, because here it is! There were few minor adjustments from last weeks version, the name was enlarged and I had to add the rest of the text. I can’t be the only one who, while adding text to a design, thinks, “Nooo! Not over my pretty picture!!” But I think making the text bigger did give it an extra punch and contributed to the movie poster feel I was hoping for.

Why, yes! There are more pictures! I’m so glad you asked. Here’s the printed label on an Ice Mountain bottle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a little closer:

I know what you are thinking, “But, Beth! You had three designs! What about the other two??”  I’m so glad you remembered! I have the smartest readers. Design 2 was handed in pretty much as-is. When I put it on the bottle, it just didn’t have the impact I had hoped. One of my classmates pretty much nailed it when she said, “It looks like a custom label at a wedding reception.” Not what I was hoping for, but lesson learned.

Which brings us to the third and final version. Our teacher told us to just be as creative as possible on this one and here are the final results: front label, back label and the labels on some 3D bottles created in Illustrator. Click on any of them to enlarge.

I’m pretty pleased with the all end results. My teacher was extremely complimentary, which really surprised me. Don’t get me wrong, he had told me throughout the process that he liked where I was going, so I wasn’t surprised he was happy with it. But during my presentation he actually said to give me anything less then an A would be an injustice. That was surprising, especially since it’s been a very challenging class for me.

Up next is brochure about celiac disease and a book jacket. The celiac disease brochure I actually sketched out (for a change!) and is a lot more fun then it sounds. The goal is to make a quick pocket guide for newly diagnosed celiacs or people on gluten-free diet, both males and females of all ages. I am thinking of a retro diner menu, but in order to appeal to men and women, color choice will be important. As for the book jacket, um…I should probably get working on that since it’s due in a week and a half.

 

Leave a Reply

