Call 911 Because I’ve Clearly Lost My Damn Mind

Part of a work-in-progress school project

I don’t know about you, but I thought once I got out of high school peer pressure and pimples would be a thing of the past. But, apparently, they’re eternal. Lucky us. Anyway, I have succumbed to peer pressure and have signed up for my first 5K run. Everyone keeps charmingly calling it a “race” like there is some chance I will actually beat another person. As long as I finish under 3 hours, I will be happy. What? Is that a bad time for a 5K? I don’t even know. All I do know is that I’ve been assured there is booze afterwards.

But the deciding factor wasn’t the peer pressure (which really wasn’t much, but did involve a hilarious home made flyer). I realized the date of the “race” was right around my one year anniversary of the celiac disease diagnosis. I had been planning to celebrate by stuffing my pie hole with gluten-free baked goods, but I started thinking about the really amazing (non-celiac related) turn my life has taken in the last year and a half and how now I do things each day that, back then, I never would have thought possible.

The thing is, I didn’t discover a magical source of internal strength or suddenly acquire secret ancient knowledge to help get me moving. I just made the commitment to get off my ass. That was it. With school- it was metaphoric. With my fitness- it was literal. The only thing that has changed is that now I believe I can do it (well…most of the time). It took a certain set of circumstances for me to recognize it, but everything I needed to make these changes was always inside me. Like Glinda the Good Witch said, “You don’t need to be helped any longer. You’ve always had the power…”

Saw this in class yesterday and couldn’t stop laughing!

A while back I mentioned a motivational author I love, Steve Chandler. A few times each week he sends out inspirational e-mails and this was in Thursday’s:

Your potential is not serving you if it’s always thought of as being associated with your future. Bring it home. Recognize it’s true nature: it’s in you now. When people see your potential, they are seeing something that’s already in you. Otherwise they couldn’t see it. People can’t see into the future. But they can see something in you. 

Not to get all Fight Club on you, but you are not a special snowflake. You are not the one person “potential” forgot. That spark is in you, because it’s in everyone. All it takes is a willingness to push a little farther and then a little farther and a little farther after that. Pretty soon, you’re farther then you ever thought you could go. I know it’s true because I see it almost every day in not just me, but in my classmates as well. It’s not easy and takes commitment, but our time on Earth is so brief, do you really want to look back and wish “if only…”?

So while I’m pretty sure exactly 14 seconds into the 5K, I’ll wonder who the hell thought it was a good idea for me to run in public (the jiggling! The sweating! Dear God what have I unleashed on the world?!?), I’m going to cross the finish line. As corny as it sounds, I can’t think of a better way to mark how far I’ve come then with doing something I never thought I could do. And if, on 5K day, you see a tall, chubby lady in a Ray LaMontagne t-shirt passed out next to the road, I would really appreciate it if you drag me over the finish line.

On a personal note, this week went so incredibly fast! I forgot to mail my mom’s birthday card. But here is a picture of me as a little girl so she hopefully remembers how cute I was and isn’t too upset.

Have a great week and pray for my knees!

One thought on “Call 911 Because I’ve Clearly Lost My Damn Mind

  1. Pingback: High Anxiety | Beth Brousil Photography and Design

Leave a Reply

