The Countdown Begins!

This has nothing to do with anything in the post, but isn’t it cool?

Well friends,  you’re probably sick of hearing about it, but we are less then 30 hours away from the 5K. Yesterday I picked up my race packet with my bib (I’m #31), a super ugly t-shirt, and a bunch of free snacks- one of which I can actually eat. But, hey, I still love them, because free is awesome. The plan for today was to relax, maybe take a nap, possibly a short workout. But when I woke up, it was grey and rainy out. I thought, “Hey, I think I’ll watch back episodes of Paranormal Witness.” That show is so scary! So I guess that nap is off the table.

To palette cleanse, I organized my race day playlist. Last week, I talked about some of my anxiety coping strategies. Another one is to get very organized and to control what I can. But, oddly, this whole thing isn’t causing me too much stress. Don’t get me wrong, there is stress there, but it’s like a 2 on a scale of 10. There might be a hint of excitement in there, too.

Anyway, back to the playlist. As you may know, music motivates me like nothing else. So I had to find the perfect set of songs, in the perfect order (see? VERY organized) to keep me moving the entire course. I sort of live in fear of someone stumbling on my music downloads, because any hip lady points I may have accumulated would fly out the window (like they just did when I used the word hip) and people would think at least 5 people with very different musical tastes share the same account. But let me tell you something about those 5 people- they all HATE reggae.

Here is the playlist, with a You Tube link:

Adele, Rolling in the Deep: I’m pretty sure they would kick me out of the suburbs if I didn’t listen to Adele. But the first lines are so perfect for the start of the race. “There’s a fire starting in my heart. Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark.”

Fat Boy Slim, Right Here, Right Now: Maybe because this one is played at sporting events all the time, but this one always boosts me up and makes me want to move.

Muse, Uprising: Who doesn’t love this one?

The Black Keys, Howling For You: This song has the perfect tempo to workout to!

Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears, Booty City: Your life will be measured in two halves- the time before you heard this song and the time after you heard it. It’s another great song to workout to, because it reminds you that like 75% of your workout goal is butt related. Oh yeah, silently protest, but you know it’s true.

House of Pain, Jump Around: Don’t judge! This is by far my most embarrassing download.  Rewatching the video for the first time in 100 years, I realized my husband looks like the main House of Pain guy if he moved to the suburbs, let his hair grow out, and starting wearing his glasses instead of squinting all the time.

If I start finding Mickey’s Big Mouth bottles around the house, I’ll know I’ve been punked by House of Pain!

Plus, this gives me an excuse to post this clip from Swingers with Vince Vaughn (Tip: if you google, “Swingers”, for the love of God, leave the safe search on!).

Kevin Rudolf, Let It Rock: Really, if this song  and the last one don’t prove I will listen to anything except reggae, then I don’t know what will.

Kelly Clarkson, Stronger: I put this one here, because I figure at this point, I’m going to be tired and I need someone to remind me that th 5K will not kill me.

U2, Veritgo: I love U2, but I can’t hear this song without thinking of South Park Bono and that makes me laugh. Lord knows at this point I will need a laugh, too.

Trampled By Turtles, Walt Whitman: I have no idea what Walt Whitman has to do with a bluegrass song, but I love this one. I love Trampled by Turtles anyway, but they sent me a free tshirt, so I love them that much more. Take note other bands! My fandom can be bought with free goods.

U2, Desire: Do I have to explain this one?

REM, Superman: Or this one? The very first line is, “I am superman and I can do anything.”

Mumford and Sons, The Cave: I just want this to be the song I hear as I cross the finish line.

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say

Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So that’s my playlist. Hopefully I won’t need the whole thing. Or maybe I can listen to it in the triage area of the hospital while they revive me.

Just a reminder that you can follow me on Twitter. Lately I’ve been live tweeting during Boardwalk Empire. I’m also on Tumblr.

2 thoughts on “The Countdown Begins!

  1. Yes don’t judge with the House of Pain! Because I kind of do look like him. lol. I will have to admit though I had the black hat in the video with the green words back in the day. Let me know if you need any heavy metal music like Pantera or old (GOOD) Metallica for your run. 🙂

    • First, I read that as “if you need Panera” and I got excited because I thought of pumpkin lattes. Second, I think I remember that hat. Just imagine the stories I could have told if I added some Cyprus Hill to the playlist. 😉

Leave a Reply

