Back to Routine

First, the good news. Miss Lucky is on her way to recovery. After getting propofol (AKA the Michael Jackson killing drug) to knock her out for an oral exam, she woke up and just started eating. I’m very grateful to all the doctors and techs who took care of her during her 4 days in the hospital, especially her primary doctor, who didn’t seem to notice that we were calling her by the wrong name for almost a week.

I’m also grateful for the hot bar at Whole Foods, because it’s was the only decent meal I was eating each day. We have no food, clean clothes are getting scarce, and you know the the dirty dish situation is out of control when your husband says, “Maybe we should buy some plastic forks.” It’s crazy how something like an illness can throw off your whole life. I don’t know about you, but I function much better on a set schedule. Not a rigid, “Up by 7, breakfast 7:15-7:22, shower 7:23-7:36” type of schedule, but a loose idea about my day. So starting to get back towards my normal routine feels really good.

While all this was going on, I was trying to learn Adobe Dreamweaver. For the unfamiliar, it’s basically website coding. Thinking about it now, I can’t decide which I would rather do, give Lucky her 4 pills twice a day or code a website in Dreamweaver. In both cases, you keep doing the same thing over and over and over again and it spits crap back out at you. Then you try one last time, it works, you have no idea what you did differently and couldn’t do it again if you tried. Dreamweaver feels like getting thrown into an episode of The Twilight Zone. Things look familiar and you know how they should operate, but everything is just slightly off. It would not surprise me at all if it was created by aliens so they could point and laugh at humans (like they need more reasons).

On the right, the creator of Adobe Dreamweaver

Maybe it’s my brains way of trying to decompress, but when I get really super stressed, random funny things pop into my head. So, Wednesday while I was busy repeatedly knocking my tea over on to the brand new Wacom tablets (I also get clumsy, well, clumsiER) during web design class, I was thinking how I had spent hours trying to get one simple thing to work and it was all wasted, because nothing was working, how this is so out of my comfort zone, how we need a new TV (oh, did I forget to mention that our TV decided it was retiring in the middle of all this?) and from there stressful thoughts started to snowball. Out of nowhere, a conversation I had nearly a year ago popped into my head. I was talking to one of my teachers and said I was nervous for web design, because I heard it was difficult. He scrunched up his face like he smelled something foul and said, “You need to talk to people who like things.” I just started laughing and said, “What does that even mean??” He said, “No one you talk to seems to like anything!” Honestly, I still have no idea what he means (we like things, just not Dreamweaver), but it made me laugh then and makes me laugh now.

Thinking I was missing the software operation gene, I was super excited when I stumbled on the site Mediaconvertor.org and it worked on the first try!! Let’s say there is a video of a song on You Tube that you love and want as an MP3 to put on your Ipod or whatever. You just put the link in and it converts it! I have no affiliation with the site  (Lord knows they wouldn’t want me to touch any of their code), but I was so excited that it worked for me, that I wanted to share.  Now I can listen to this song all the time:

Ray, seriously, you have a lot of songs named after girls and one named “Beth” would be awesome. At least for me.

I’m fairly certain that by the end of the weekend, we will have clean dishes and clothes once again. Of course, they may be plastic forks and clothes from the store, but they still count. Life is slowly returning to normal and that’s always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

