Keep Going…

SupermanOnce again its the Friday before a long holiday weekend. So I’ve done the next best thing to a super short post- a post with lots of picture!

Since I’ve started school in 2011 I’ve had to find a lot of ways to kick my own ass into motivation when things get hard (every day). I look to my quote journal and to find words to keep me going and the ones I went back to over and over were all from songs. So, I thought over break to keep my skills sharp I did a project to illustrate them a little.

The first one on top, is from the song, “Superman” from REM. Every time I got close to finishing something and needed a little push to go further, I would listen to this one. It reminded me that I’ve come really far and at little bit more is no big deal.

Clouds for MountainsThis is from the Andrew Bird song, Danse Caribe. I had this album forever and never listened to it. Then one night I was looking for something kind of laid back to put on while I did homework. I fell in love and this line jumped out at me. How often when facing an unfamiliar situation do we think it’s going to be the worst thing mankind has ever faced and then, when it’s over, realize the anticipation was far worse than the situation itself? If you are like me, probably a lot.
The Cave lyricThis is probably the one that ran through my head more than any other, but every time I tried to illustrate it, it didn’t look right. I don’t know if it’s just so important to me that nothing I create can measure up or what, but I just went black and white with texture so it wouldn’t be left out.

You knew I couldn’t get through this without some Ray LaMontagne, didn’t you? Below is from his song, “Empty” and originally I was just going to do the first one. But after it was finished, it looked like the title page to a well-worn old timey book you’d find in the bottom of a stack at the flea market. So, I decided to illustrate a few more “pages” of the song.
Empty disasters chest
Since it’s New Year’s and we’re far apart, I’ll raise a virtual Manhattan in your honor. Wishing you all the health, happiness and love that 2013 has to give. May your neighbors respect you, trouble neglect you, the angels protect you and heaven accept you!

4 thoughts on “Keep Going…

    • Thank you so much! These are the ones that really kept me go this past year, so I wanted to create something for them first. But I am always on the lookout for new (to me) music for inspiration and maybe in a couple of months I’ll add a few more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

