You Can Do It Because It’s Been Done

hotrcirc_cropped

I thought a circus picture seemed fitting for the first week back at school.

So, the first week of school is under my belt and it’s always amazing how it simultaneously feels like no time has passed and 100 years has passed in the span of 3 1/2 weeks. I feel that the most in web/interactive design. The only reason I knew I wasn’t in that dream where I am at school on test day and I don’t know the material was that I had clothes on. I wasn’t alone, though, because other people were staring at their monitors and occasionally hitting only the space bar for some unknown reason.

This semester will be more of a challenge for me, time-wise and work-wise and everything-wise. But yesterday I was on the treadmill and I thought that it’s just another way to challenge myself.

Before I started school, I never challenged myself. I thought I did. I had things I wanted to accomplish, but I never took the steps to get there. Looking back, I can see how that led to complacency and put me at the mercy of someone else’s decisions. Putting yourself out there is scary. I mean, just re-read those words: “out there.” It’s not even defined and sounds like a random abyss. But the truth is- it’s not. There is very little in our lives that has not been done before by someone else in the universe.

My overly filled date book for this week. How Tuesday escaped mark-free I have no idea.

My overly filled date book for this week. How Tuesday escaped mark-free I have no idea.

People used to think it was physically impossible for a human being to run a mile in under 4 minutes. In other words- crazy fast. Then, in 1954, Roger Bannister, ran a mile in 3:59. BUT- it gets crazier! He only held the record for 46 days, because his rival, John Landy, broke his record by almost 2 seconds. But there’s more! After that, people started running 4 minute miles like mad. It was as if after one person did it, people thought, “Hey! If he can do it, I can do it, too!” Interesting to note that no woman has broke the 4 minute mark. Someone who isn’t me needs to work on that.

But anyway, my point is that just knowing that someone else has blazed the trail before us and what we want is possible can be that little nudge that takes us further. I’m not going to lie, I’m stressed and a little (a lot) nervous, but there are tons of people who have done it before me, so I know it can be done. Right? RIGHT?!?!

So I’ll be bold
As well as strong
And use my head alongside my heart
So tame my flesh
And fix my eyes
That tethered mind free from the lies

I Will Wait, Mumford and Sons

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

