Who Wants To See Some Work In Progress?

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 9.10.31 AMWell, too bad. You’re going to anyway. So we got a new assignment last week to create a beverage package. It’s expanded to “things in glass bottles” because olive oil and hot sauce are now included. But I knew what I wanted to do a wine label. Normally when I get an assignment I think, “Oh crap. There is no way I am going to be able to come up with an idea for this,” but this is the one time I actually had an idea going in.

A few months ago I was chatting with some people about a line of low calorie booze that isn’t exactly tasty and has an emaciated looking woman as their logo. Really, if you are drinking that much that you have to worry about the calories adding up, there are some steps you can take to remedy the situation. Twelve of them, to be exact. We started joking around that we were going to create a liquor line called  Chunky Butts with twice the calories of regular alcohol and it would come in flavors like carrot cake, tiramisu, and baklava. Stop looking at me like that- it was hilarious at the time.

When this project came around, I knew I couldn’t actually call my winery Chunky Butts (although, I’m sure Sir Mix-a-Lot would make an excellent spokesman and lord knows what kind of hits this blog is going to get having the words “chunky butts” used repeatedly). So I went a little high brow and changed the name to Hourglass. The initial idea was to have just the silhouette of a curvy woman against the word “Hourglass”. But I realized something extremely important- I suck at drawing- and even tracing- people. I couldn’t get her expression right and a featureless face seemed wrong for the kind of light-hearted sexiness I wanted in my label.

You would think that I would realize that hours and hours of frustation mean that I am going in the wrong direction, but I am not always smart. After what seemed like my one millionth google search for inspiration, a picture of a corset popped up. “Hm…corsets can give everyone an hourglass figure,” I thought. The corset image came together in about a half hour.

It’s still in progress. I’m not sure about the placement of the bow,  if all the lacing is necessary, or if the type is right. Plus it will probably be reduced a little bit because there is more copy that needs to be added. We’ve got a midpoint critique a week from Monday and I’ll see what my classmates and teacher have to say, but I really like the direction this is headed. The label is going to be printed and added to an actual bottle of wine, so there will also be product photos forthcoming! Try and contain your excitement.

But for now Spring Break! Even though it’s just started, I think this clip sums up my break:

I’m always the Milhouse.

Leave a Reply

