It’s The Little Things

IMG_20130530_202330

Drawing in progress

Remember a couple of weeks ago when I kept whining about not having an internship? Well, guess who just finished her first two weeks at her shiny new internship? I don’t want to give out too many details, because while I know all my readers are as sane as they are good looking and smart, there may be a few lurking crazies. But what I can tell you is it’s at a non-profit (yea!), unpaid (boo!), and I get to do a little bit of everything (yea!). I think it’s going to be great.

Throughout this whole internship search, I kept running across the quote by Joseph Campbell:

We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

I know that should have told me something, but far be it from me to actually pay attention to the signs around me. You know how I live for coincidence? Now you do. Well, in a previous post I told you about how my friend who passed away inspired me to go back to school. When we wouldn’t want to tell customers our real names, we would give them fake ones (I have a tendency to bring out the silly in people). My friend’s fake name is my new bosses real name. It wouldn’t be weird if her name was Mary or Brenda, but it’s something not at all common. Weird, right? Okay, just humor me.

Speaking of inspiring people, whenever I write these posts I’m pretty much writing them for me. I figure if they make me laugh, motivate me, kick me in the drawers, what have you, that they will probably do that for someone else, too. Plus it’s really powerful when you are at a low point to go back and read your own words. But I never think of myself as inspirational. Trust me, if you saw the stack of junk on the coffee table, the sink full of dishes, or the laundry that needs to be put away, the only thing it might inspire you to do is clean your house. So the other day someone sent me a message on My Fitness Pal that said something like, “Your story is so inspirational! I hope to get to where you are someday,” I seriously thought she sent it to the wrong person. It didn’t help that I had just got back from the gym and was sitting on the couch in my underwear eating cheese while watching Dr. Phil (sadly, no part of that is made up, it was super hot and I was hungry).

But it made me think about who we admire and why. We tend to put those we admire on a pedestal and think everything they do should be inspirational. “They way they took out the trash was a triumph of the human spirit!” That’s where the saying, “Don’t meet those you admire” comes in. People rarely act like we expect. I follow artist and author Austin Kleon on Twitter and one day he posted something like, “Is there any great artist who WASN’T a philandering douchebag? #disappointed” I’ve heard rumblings that Ray LaMontagne had a particularly disappointing meeting with his inspiration, Bob Dylan. We have to give each other room to be human and realize that our inspirations, just like us, don’t always have it together. We all fall short of our own expectations at one point or another. But I think we also cannot forget that it’s the small acts of kindness that sometimes mean the most to people. You never know how a smile or hug or some sincere words will effect someone.

Wouldn't this look awesome on a t-shirt?

Wouldn’t this look awesome on a t-shirt?

Okay, so you know how the Mumford & Sons song, “The Cave” has inspired me over and over throughout the last few years? Well, they are having a contest to design a t-shirt for their summer tour. Now, I know as a designer I’m supposed to be all against spec work and blah blah blah, but, hey, MUMFORD & SONS! In addition to getting your design on a shirt, you get $1000 and I am poor so that would be awesome. I was so excited when I first saw this contest, but then I totally forgot about it and had to repurpose a design and format some type quickly. Allegedly voting starts sometime today (5/31) and is open only for a week. You don’t have to register for anything, because it looks like you can only vote using Facebook and Twitter. If you could spare a moment and vote for me once voting opens,  I would so appreciate it. There are some excellent designs and competition is going to be fierce. Vote here

UPDATE! Voting is now open and you can use Facebook, Twitter, or text 9S88MZ to 75572.  

Leave a Reply

